Forums Contact Shop

Recommended sites

© 2003 - 2013 all rights reserved to their respective owners

Forums Contact Shop

Official sites

Partner sites

Partager sur Facebook
Partager sur Twitter
Partager par e-mail
Partager sur Google Bookmarks
depecheworld dot com Homepage History Pictures Discography On Tour Videos Downloads

The Singles 81-85

Highest Chart Position: n/a (UK), n/a (USA)

Tracks :

01 - Dreaming Of Me

02 - New Life

03 - Just Can't Get Enough

04 - See You

05 - The Meaning Of Love

06 - Leave In Silence

07 - Get The Balance Right

08 - Everything Counts

09 - Love, In Itself

10 - People Are People

11 - Master And Servant

12 - Blasphemous Rumours

13 - Somebody

14 - Shake The Disease

15 - It's Called A Heart

16 - Photographic (Some Bizarre Version)

17 - Just Can't Get Enough (Schizo Mix)

Shake The Disease - Tele Chanson (France) - 1985

Replacing the original Catching Up with Depeche Mode compilation, Singles 81>85 subtracts two tracks -- the lightweight curiosity "Flexible" and "Fly on the Windscreen," which surfaced to better effect on Black Celebration -- and adds two, the full six-minute remix of "Just Can't Get Enough" and the original version of "Photographic," Depeche's recording debut on a 1980 compilation album. The overall collection remains the same, though, namely, a run through the peerless singles that kept the band on the charts in the U.K. and elsewhere, as well as building up their increasing cult following in America.

It's an embarrassment of riches, from such bouncy early hits as "New Life," "Just Can't Get Enough," and "The Meaning of Love" to the increasingly heavier sound of "Everything Counts," "People Are People," and "Blasphemous Rumors." Nearly all the tracks appear in the original single mixes, some quite different from their album versions, others essentially the same (the one subtle difference in "Somebody" is an echoey percussion pattern buried in the mix, for instance). Two otherwise unavailable singles also appear here: "It's Called a Heart" is pleasant enough, but "Shake the Disease" is great, an obsessive love lyric matched to a wonderful, slow dance melody and an excellent pairing of David Gahan's more aggressive and Martin Gore's gentler vocals. As an introduction to Depeche's brilliant knack for catchy tunes evolving over time into a more challenging but no less popular collection of songs, at once defining and expanding the boundaries of synth pop, look no further.

by Ned Raggett (